Can they move about?

  • Posted on: 19 November 2007
  • By: sean

Dear Sean,
So, are the players confined to staying in the outside lines during play? Or can they move about beyond their square to hit a ball in play? Thanks - nice website!!
- Kent, 11/20/2007

Nice to hear from you, Kent. I get this question a lot even from people who have been playing four square with us forever. Our rules say that you don't have to stand in your square, you can run all over the court if you want to. However, it's very foolish to leave your square unprotected.

A couple of guys now and then run out of their square to try to deliver some intended crushing blow but it often backfires on them and they end up on the wrong side of the court when someone tries to crush them back. But there are other guys who get surprised when they are waiting for ball to land and someone runs from across the court to hit it first. Its a dynamic that we all find very fun, but it's a flexible game and you can play it any way you want.

Hope this helps, drop us a line and let us know how you're doing with that rule.

Section: