Blogs

Yes, we need 18 billion dollars

  • Posted on: 5 December 2007
  • By: sean

DEAR FRIEND,
I AM MRS. SESE-SEKO WIDOW OF LATE PRESIDENT MOBUTU SESE-SEKO OF ZAIRE? NOW KNOWN AS DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF CONGO (DRC).

I HAVE DEPOSITED THE SUM OF EIHGTEEN MLLION UNITED STATE DOLLARS(US$18,000,000,00.) WITH A SECURITY COMPANY , FOR SAFEKEEPING. THE FUNDS ARE SECURITY CODED TO PREVENT THEM FROM KNOWING THE CONTENT. WHAT I WANT YOU TO DO IS TO INDICATE YOUR INTEREST THAT YOU WILL ASSIST US BY RECEIVING THE MONEY ON OUR BEHALF.

How do you give out scores?

  • Posted on: 2 December 2007
  • By: sean

Dear Sean,
I am in sixth grade, and on our playground we play a little differently than the rules you have listed. The way we play, the person who was in the server square (royalty) last wins the game. Their are many fights among us about this, and I would like to know more about this scores. We have never played by giving people scores, or points, so I would like to know more about doing scores. - Celeste, 11/30/2007

Hit over your head...

  • Posted on: 29 November 2007
  • By: sean

Dear Sean,
If the ball is thrown so hard that it goes over a child's head is it "out"? -Brianne, 11/28/07 9:59 PM

Good question, Brianne. The issue isn't that the ball goes over their heads, its more about how hard the ball has been hit and this is why. If a ball is hit so hard that it bounces 100 feet straight up then the player can just wait for it to fall and its no big deal. If you have to run 100 feet out of the square to return it the that's something different.

Can they move about?

  • Posted on: 19 November 2007
  • By: sean

Dear Sean,
So, are the players confined to staying in the outside lines during play? Or can they move about beyond their square to hit a ball in play? Thanks - nice website!!
- Kent, 11/20/2007

Nice to hear from you, Kent. I get this question a lot even from people who have been playing four square with us forever. Our rules say that you don't have to stand in your square, you can run all over the court if you want to. However, it's very foolish to leave your square unprotected.

And do you have to serve to the lowest square?

  • Posted on: 8 November 2007
  • By: sean

Dear Sean,
In the rules I couldnt find out if the ball was served to you when you hit back to someone can you hold the ball? And do you have to serve to D? -Branden, 11/8/07 10:19 AM"

I'm not sure I understand the question, Branden, but here is what I think you are asking.

No one is allowed to hold or catch the ball at any time, unless the special black jack rule has been called. And even when black jack is called, it does not apply to the first return of the ball. You cannot catch a serve when using black jack.

Pages