A lot of people from a lot of different industries are looking to us to answer questions about the standards of this playground game. Somehow we have become the official source for rules clarifications, managing behavior, and even consulting about world records. This week we're addressing a couple of questions about the size of a four square court. I will answer your questions in the order they were received...
If the ball enters a square on the fly, and the player hits the ball in their own square before it goes to another square, is the player who hit the ball out? -Jody 10/25/2013
If a ball bounces in a player A's square and player A doesn't hit the ball, then bounces in player B's square, is player A out for not hitting the ball? -Kimberly 9/24/2013
I thought "air hits" (playing the ball before it bounces in your square) was illegal? -Arthur 8/27/2013
Dear Sean, I really love 4square! I'm 11 years old but don't under estimate me. I'm really good at 4-square. On the first day of school I made my mark. And now everyone is like Whatch out for Katherine. Is it okay if it's not just in bosten because I live in Columbus, OH and Bosten is really faraway. But that's probably asking too much but I really wish I could join. Thanks, Katherine
Kat, it is obvious to me that your skills are fierce. You're authorized to mop the court with people's faces, even if it isn't in Boston. Let us know how it goes. - Sean